Dan Beard ESA Scoutmaster Award

The Dan Beard Eagle Scout Association (ESA) recognizes Scoutmasters and Assistant Scoutmasters who have provided opportunity, experience, leadership, and guidance in advancing our youth to Eagle Scouts. The Dan Beard ESA Scoutmaster Award was created to recognize the influence that these Scoutmasters and Assistant Scoutmasters have shown in being mentors and role models to the youth of the Dan Beard Council (DBC).

Scoutmaster and Assistant Scoutmaster Emblems


  • Nominee need not be an Eagle Scout.
  • Be currently registered as a Scoutmaster or an Assistant Scoutmaster*, or have been a Scoutmaster or an Assistant Scoutmaster*, with registration that ended no more than three years ago (i.e., March 31st two years ago to present).
  • Was the Scoutmaster or Assistant Scoutmaster* of a troop when one or more youth achieved the rank of Eagle Scout in DBC.
  • Provided for the development of youth leadership within the troop.
  • Projected a positive image of Scouting in the community.

    *Nomination for an Assistant Scoutmaster must be submitted by the Scoutmaster.


The Dan Beard ESA Scoutmaster Award recipient(s) will be selected by the Dan Beard ESA Committee from the nominations submitted during the CURRENT year only. The award(s) will be presented at an appropriate event that will be communicated separately.

Nomination Process

  1. Submit nomination using the online form before the submission deadline date.

    Submission Deadline: April 15, 2024

Scoutmaster Award Recipients 2023

Wayne Stevenson

The left shirt pocket flap of Wayne’s uniform is covered with Eagle Scout Mentor pins. With his support, nine Scouts have obtained the Eagle Rank. He has even received Mentor pins from Scouts that belong to other Troops.

To Wayne, the most important thing is that Scouting should be fun. If it is not fun, it is not being done right.

Wayne encourages Scouts to be leaders. He urges the Scouts to attend National Youth Leadership Training and adults to attend Wood Badge.

Community is important to Wayne. He has excellent relationships with multiple community groups. As a result of these contacts, these groups have been very supportive of several Eagle projects.

Wayne Kalkwarf (left, presenter) and Wayne Stevenson (right, recipient)

Jim Hunter

During his tenure as Scoutmaster with both Troop 803 and formerly Troop 96, Jim helped more than sixty-five Scouts earn Eagle, while also mentoring countless others to become better citizens. He has supported each Scout in learning leadership skills through opportunities in the troop, in letting youth leaders run the troop, and in encouraging Scouts to attend National Youth Leadership Training.

Many of his former Scouts stay in contact with Jim after becoming adults. When he announced his retirement as Scoutmaster, over forty former Scouts and their families attended a surprise party for him.

In his application, Jim’s nominator stated: “I hope I can be just a fraction of the Scoutmaster, leader, and mentor that Jim has been.” A true legacy to the Scouting movement. 

Steve Scott

For eleven years, Steve has been active as an Assistant Scoutmaster, Scoutmaster, and Merit Badge Counselor. He regularly meets with Scouts for Scoutmaster Conferences, participates as an adviser at the patrol leaders’ councils, and is always at Crossovers to welcome new Scouts into the troop.
Steve is involved in volunteer work and community service, assisting four local Catholic Churches with building and grounds projects.

Steve works to instill the core values of Scouting in all his Scouts and strongly supports the ethics and ideals behind Scouting.

"The Scoutmaster" by Norman Rockwell

Dan Beard ESA Scoutmaster Award Recipients


  • Jim Hunter
  • Steve Scott
  • Wayne Stevenson


  • Michael Rechel – Troop 107
  • Mark Barth – Troop 239
  • Gary Banfield – Troop 502
  • Thomas Hale – Troop 354
  • Daniel Ogilve – Troop 850
  • Eric Saddler – Troop 974
  • James Carrol – Troop 640 


  • Steve Baumgardner – Troop 500
  • Jerry Valentour – Troop 293


  • Mark Duff – Troop 452
  • Gene O’Rourke – Troop 112
  • Joe Schneider – Troop 420

Click here to request a page update or report a problem.