Dan Beard Council Advancement

Age Requirements


Written by Mike Swofford Tuesday, 28 August 2012 14:24

scout age eaglesBoy’s awards are for boys. Merit Badges, badges of rank, and Eagle Palms are for registered Boy Scouts, Varsity Scouts, or qualified Venturers (youth that are registered in Cub Scouting cannot earn awards in the Boy Scout program). Any registered Boy Scout or Varsity Scout may earn these awards until his 18th birthday. Another common misconception concerns "bridging" Cub Scouts into Boy Scouts before they are 10 and half years old. The Arrow of Light award is awarded based upon age or academic grades. However a youth must still meet the 10 and a half age requirements if he is academically advanced. Earning the Arrow of Light award at an early age is not an automatic advancement into the Boy Scouts Program.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 28 August 2012 15:09  

top ranks

Advancement and recognition is a fundamental tradition of the Scouting program.  As one of the methods that delivers the Aims of Scouting, advancement teaches Scouts self-confidence, responsibility, goal-setting, and achievement.

The Dan Beard Council offers many opportunities for Scouts to advance on the unit, district, and council levels. The Council Advancement Committee adminsters and promotes the advancement programs and ensures a quality experience for all Scouts.

This site is designed to be a resource for Scouts, leaders, and parents to understand the Cub Sciuting, Boy Scouting, and Venturing advancement programs.  Explore the menu above for information on advancement, awards, policies, and advancement related events and opportunities.


Internet Advancement


Written by Administrator Wednesday, 30 June 2010 21:25

Units can now submit advancement for unit youth members online. Use Internet Advancement to add ranks, merit badges and awards, and update information on existing advancement. Please be aware of the Browser Compatibility Requirements for the Internet Advancement System (click here).  Internet Explorer 9 and Internet Explorer 10 will only work in browser compatibility mode (click here for instructions on how to set your browser to this mode)internet advancement

  Click Here for Internet Advancement

Click Here for Additional Help Topics

Last Updated on Thursday, 18 July 2013 16:19



Advancement Guidelines and Highlights


Written by Administrator Wednesday, 30 June 2010 21:21

guide to advancementBecause rank badges are a special and protected achievement for a Scout, the BSA and Council Advancement Committee operate under a strict set up guidelines and policies. This not only ensures consistency of the requirements being met, but also prevents those that may not have legitimately earned a badge from obtaining them.The Guide to Advancement published by the National Council, BSA includes the policies and interpretations of advancement guidelines and is the single source for advancement procedures. Read more for a highlight of a selection of important guidelines regarding advancement and the receipt of badges and ranks.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 28 August 2012 15:27



Cub Scout Ranks


Written by Mike Swofford Friday, 24 August 2012 17:31

cub rank patches

There are five rank badges and the Arrow of Light Award in Cub Scouting. All Cub Scouts, no matter the age, earn their Bobcat rank first. The remainder of the ranks are earned based on a the age of the boy. Unlike Boy Scouts and Venturing, earning one rank is not dependent on another. Instead, a boy earns the rank of his age group whether he has earned previous badges or not (with the exception of the Bobcat Badge). Learn more about each rank badge; for exact requirements, please consult the handbook for that particular rank.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 28 August 2012 13:48



More Articles...

Page 1 of 2