The Hopewell District of Dan Beard Council has a long history dating back to the very early days of Scouting.

From the beginning of the Boy Scouts of America in 1910, there have been Scouting units in the area that encompasses Hopewell District.  These united operated under charters granted directly by the BSA National HQ.  In 1917, a provisional (2nd class) council was established in Middletown to issue charters to and serve Scouting units in the Middletown area.  In 1920, the Middletown Area Council #454 was granted full council status.  In 1928 the territory of the Middletown Area Council was expanded to include all of Warren County.  In 1933, the council changed names to Mound Builders Area Council.  Over the years there were several shifts in the actual territory of MBAC, but by 1955 the boundary for Mound Builders Area Council #454 was finalized to include all of Warren County and the northeast corner of Butler County that included Middletown and Monroe.

Mound Builders Area Council #454 continued to operate until July 1, 1985, when it was merged into Dan Beard Council #438.  At the time of the merger, the MBAC territory became the Mound Builders District of Dan Beard Council.  While a part of Dan Beard Council, there were times where re-districting split up the district, with most of Warren County becoming the Fort Ancient District while the portion of Butler County became part of the Great Miami district.  In 2006, a new redistricting occurred that reunited the old Mound Builders Council / District territory under a new district, named Hopewell District.  These boundaries and areas are what makes up Hopewell District today.

The Hopewell District serves the communities of Carlisle, Franklin, Kings Mills, Lebanon, Loveland, Maineville, Mason, Middletown, Monroe, Morrow, Springboro, South Lebanon, Waynesville and many other smaller communities within these borders.