District Transformation

Have you heard the exciting news? The Dan Beard Council is aligning our Districts to keep entire public school districts together, utilize easy transportation routes, and enable a critical mass of volunteers to build strong district teams to support units. The new district alignment went into effect on November 1, however, there is a short period where things are continuing to transition from your old district to your new district and you may notice these name changes begin to occur on various platforms.  We want to make sure this transition is easy and straightforward for you, so we’ll continue to keep you updated through this process so that you can easily manage the various ways your receive communication from us whether through social media, district newsletters, or other channels.  Additional details will continue to be shared here at https://danbeard.org/district-alignment and you can learn about your District at https://danbeard.org/districts.


  • Optimize resources in the best way possible to ensure that all Scouting within our council boundaries is able to grow and thrive.
  • Distribute limited staff and volunteer resources so that all youth and units have the opportunity to benefit from a fully supported Scouting experience.


  • Keep public school districts together, when possible.
  • Consider transportation routes, geographically linked neighborhoods, and critical mass to build strong unit support through district committee and commissioner staff teams.


  • Move from eight to seven districts, each with the ability to reach full capacity in their support of the Scouting program and all unit types within their boundaries with membership, program, unit service, and financial goals.
  • The new districts will use temporary, geographic names until formal names are selected and approved. Districts will lead efforts to name themselves following the principals of that districts may not be named for an actual person or based on Native American references.
  • The new districts are (full listing with the school districts they serve is below):
    • Butler
    • Warren
    • Clermont & Brown
    • Northern Kentucky
    • Hamilton East
    • Hamilton South
    • Hamilton West


  • Formal Announcement: September 23
  • Inventory District Volunteers: October
  • Meet the Key Three Nights: October
  • District Calendrer Planning: October & November
  • New Districts Go Into Effect: November 1
  • Naming Process: Winter
  • District Names Announced: Scout Week in February 2022

New Scouting Districts with Public School District Listing

Note: Your unit’s district is based on the location and school district of the chartered organization for the unit.

Butler District (Temporary Name)

Edgewood City Schools
Fairfield City School District
Hamilton City School District
Lakota Local School District
Madison City Schools
Middletown City Schools
Monroe Local Schools
New Miami Local Schools
Ross Local School District
Talawanda School District

Clermont & Brown District (Temporary Name)

Batavia Local School District
Bethel-Tate Local School District
Blanchester Local School District
Clermont Northeastern Local School District
Eastern Local School District
Fayetteville-Perry Local School District
Felicity Local School District
Georgetown Exempted Village School District
Goshen Local School District
Milford Exempted Village School District
New Richmond Exempted Village School District
Ripley Union Lewis Huntington Local School District
West Clermont Local School District
Western Brown Local School District
Williamsburg Local School District

Northern Kentucky District (Temporary Name)

All School Districts in Boone, Kenton, Campbell, Gallatin, Owen, Grant & Pendleton Counties

Hamilton West District (Temporary Name)

Finneytown Local School District
Mt Healthy City School District
Northwest Local School District
Oak Hill Local School District
Southwest Local School District
Three Rivers Local School District
Winton Woods Local School District

Hamilton South (Temporary Name)

Cincinnati Public Schools
North College Hill City School District
Norwood City School District
St. Bernard-Elmwood Place City Schools
Wyoming City Schools

Hamilton East District (Temporary Name)

Deer Park Community City School District
Forest Hills Local School District
Indian Hill Exempted Village School District
Lockland School District
Loveland City School District
Madeira City School District
Mariemont City School District
Princeton City School District
Reading Community City School District
Sycamore Community School District

Warren District (Temporary Name)

Carlisle Local Schools
Clinton-Massie Local School District
Franklin City School District
Kings Local School District
Lebanon City School District
Little Miami School District
Mason City School District
Springboro Schools
Wayne Local School District